My Career – Accounting

When we were all growing up, I think it is fair to say we all have an ‘idea’ of what we want to be.

Firstly I wanted to be a vet, then a teacher, then I went through the phase of not really knowing what I wanted to do.

I did my GCSE’s and one year of my A-Levels. I looked for apprenticeship’s and from there I have ‘landed’ on my feet.

I started off as Apprentice in Business Administration and Marketing .

Then moved onto receptionist/office junior. Once that contract had finished, I was given the opportunity in a commercial role and now four years later I am a finance assistant.

When I was growing up, I was always told maths and figures were not my thing. During exams I didn’t expect to do well. But here I am to tell my story.

I wish my Dad (Step-Dad) was here to see me as a finance assistant (who I sadly lost, last year) because he was my biggest supporter. He was the first one who I called with all my exam results, the one who believed in me and helped me.

So my finance career started about two years ago, with now being a finance assistant I am going to be doing my level 1-3 in accounting then moving on to do my AAT.


It is safe to say – never give up, I didn’t think I would be in finance but I am.

IMG_3346Never limit yourself and never stop believing, I think if it wasn’t for my Dad (Step-Dad) I wouldn’t have ever considered finance/accounting as a career.

Keep believing and don’t give up – we all have times which are hard and challenging but I am in a good place and looking forward to the future.

Emily x

Leave a comment